top of page

Vegan in Spain


I have been vegan a little over a year, and I had no idea what to expect when it came to ordering/ finding a vegan meal in Spain. What I did have in my favor though was being able to speak the language. I was surprised at how many places accommodated to vegans and vegetarians! I found a vegan restaurant almost on every corner and those restaurants that were not vegan, I was still able to find something to eat.

I found Barcelona to be the best city for vegans. It is very touristy and there are tons of people, which made it easier to find all vegan restaurants. I had 3 vegan food places within 5 minute walking distance from the hostel I was staying!

Madrid falls in second place when it comes to being vegan friendly. The only reason this falls under second place was because many of the vegan restaurants were only open for breakfast and lunch.

Sevilla ranking third on the vegan friendly list. This city was not as big as the other two, I did not visit a vegan restaurant while I was here, granted we were here for a few days. But I was able to make my way by eating pasta and tapas.

Overall, I would give Spain a B ranking for being vegan friendly!


You Might Also Like:
bottom of page