top of page

Long Distance Relationship


This study abroad was the first time that my boyfriend and I were apart for a long period of time. The first week and a half was a breeze— the time difference was tough, but besides that it was great. Whenever we were both awake we would talk about our day and stay connected. It was not until week two when things started getting tough. When it comes to relationships communication is key! That is something I learned very quickly. How is your significant other suppose to know something is upsetting you unless you tell them? I was hoping my one worded texts were enough to show him that I was bothered, but I guess not. I just assumed he would figure out what was upsetting me. I later realized I was basically playing hide and go seek without letting him know we were playing the game. How was he ever going to know what was wrong if I was keeping quiet. Fortunately the issue was later resolved once I finally expressed how I was feeling. Communication is vital, not only in relationships with your significant other, but in any sort of relationship. Issues can be solved, changes can be made, and girlfriends can be happy.


You Might Also Like:
bottom of page